Life · Uncategorized

You are never too old.

Last night I had a great conversation with a good friend of mine, lets call her Liz. We were talking about our kids and bedtimes, she mentioned how she had put in Mary Poppins for her girls to watch, forgetting what a long movie it was. It then made me realize, my own children have never seen the movie and I haven’t watched it since I was a child. She mentioned how Mary Poppins and Bedknobs and Broomsticks were her favorite movies growing up. Well, guess what?  I have never seen Bedknobs and Broomsticks! Are you as shocked as she was?!

I was born in 1987, and I grew up in a strongly Christian-based home. We didn’t celebrate Halloween and I wasn’t allowed to watch movies that had witches or magic in them (I didn’t watch Double, Double, Toil, and Trouble until I was 14, and I was one of the biggest Olsen twin fans) I only was able to watch such films if I was at a friends house and I knew better then to ever tell my parents if it happened. You should have seen the look of horror on my mother’s face when my son one day mentioned how much he loved Harry Potter (one day she literally cornered him to say a prayer over him) I also feel like in general, my family has never been big on movies, so we just didn’t watch them often.

This got me thinking, what other “classic” childhood movies have I missed? Apparently I have ALOT to catch up.

For this blog, I’m going to make a list of movies that most normal people have seen (probably a million times) But that I have never watched. I will then come back and write my review as a grown adult experiencing these movies for the first time!

Bedknobs and Broomsticks

thbedknobs

The princess Bride

princessbride

Legend

legend

Never Ending Story

neverending story

The Burbs

burbs

Stand by Me

stand by me

The Secret of Nimh

secretofnimh

The Last Unicorn

lastunicorn

Adventures in Babysitting

adventuresbabysitting

Kazaam

kazaam

Man of the House

man of the hosue

A Troll in Central Park

troll

Tom and Huck

tomandhuck

That Darn Cat

darncat

Sadly, i’ve not seen any of these (I know, I know) and they are just some of titles I came across while using the Google search and suggestions from my lovely Liz. What was your favorite Childhood movie? If I haven’t seen it, I would love to add it to my list! Please feel free to let me know any suggestions you may have and check back for my reviews! Thank you!

 

 

10 thoughts on “You are never too old.

  1. Oh man! You are missing out! The Last Unicorn and The Princess Bride are some of my favorites. Another childhood classic for me was Labyrinth with David Bowie. If you haven’t seen it, you gotta add it to this list!

    Like

    1. I’ve only seen a few minutes of Labyrinth, a friend brought it over on my 25th birthday because I hadn’t seen it before. I will add it to the list, because I don’t remember the small part I saw. Thank you!

      Like

  2. Love the idea behind this post. I’ve only seen princess bride out of all those films, it’s definitely worth a watch! I loved disney films as a child but one of my favourite films ever growing up was drop dead Fred. Not sure if it’s technically a childhood classic but it is brilliant!

    Like

      1. I’m going to let my daughter pick out the first movie (she won the round of rock, paper, scissors). I mentioned Drop Dead Fred to my husband and he said it was one of his favorites and he can’t believe he forgot about it! So, Thank you on his behalf too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh man, you are definitely bringing up some good nostalgia. But don’t feel too bad; there’s a good number of these I haven’t seen either!
    My faves are Neverending Story, Princess Bride, and The Last Unicorn. Good fantasy classics!

    Like

Leave a Reply

