Family

Little number 1 is 8!

Being that I’m still fairly new to the whole blogging business, I apologize for my lack of posts the past few days. It has been hectic! Trying to start this blog has been a rewarding challenge for me. I’ve never been good at time management (my husband claims I’m actually getting worse at it) But I logged in today, to find that I had 6 (6!!!) partially started blog posts and I could recall the exact moment I stopped writing each of them ( I get sidetracked really easily) So please bare with me as I try to get caught up!

We celebrated Little Number 1’s 8th birthday on Thursday (I wanted to lay in bed all day and wallow in the fact that my babies aren’t babies anymore) But instead we skipped school and went to chuck e cheese. He used the word “Epic” more times than I would care to count and I would be completely satisfied if I never heard that word again.

Not to toot my own horn here, but I’ve done a really goo job raising him. I know I know, another mom who’s kid can do no wrong….Not so much the case here. I’m fully aware of every flaw and every aspect of a little shit that my kids can be. But I’ll tell you what, I don’t care who you are, everyone’s kid can be an asshole (don’t worry I’ll have a WHOLE other blog post about “kid sass” another time).

Anyways, it got me thinking about how insanely fast the past 8 years have gone by. It makes me think about everything I would have done differently over the years but more importantly, it got me thinking about all the moments I would I wish I could go back and be a part of again, all the moments he was so little and I was “too busy” to play trying to balance life, all the times I got more frustrated then I really needed to be, and all the times I wish I could go back to get some extra snuggles while he fit comfortably in my arms.

I, of course, was looking through pictures, trying to find the “perfect one” to put on my facebook page and be the doting mother (that I really am, I’m pretty straight forward about my kids). But He’s fricking 8 years old! He’s not even going to see the post, he doesn’t even have a facebook page (despite the fact that he’s asked a ton because he likes to play the games, and then litter my account with game requests that everyone hates). Does it matter if other people think I’m as awesome as i really am? Probably not.

He might only be 8, but he is almost to my shoulders in height. He loves adventures and video games. I will forever treasure our hours of Minecraft play and awesome fort building days.  He hates math and he loves science. He has the best little boy rolling giggle you could ever imagine. His smile makes my heart happy.

 

Leave a Reply

